South Dakota Board of Education Standards Elects New President Amidst Controversy

The South Dakota Board of Education Standards has elected Steve Perkins of Sioux Falls as its new president, marking the fourth change in less than three years.

In a 4-2 secret ballot, Perkins won over incumbent Terry Nebelsick of Huron.

Perkins, who previously supported new social-studies standards, takes over in January.

The standards, opposed by education organizations, were backed by Governor Kristi Noem.

This leadership change follows a series of board transitions, including the removal of the previous president, Jacqueline Sly, by the governor in May 2022, and subsequent appointments leading to Nebelsick’s brief tenure.