Four Mitchell Kernels named to the 11AA All-State football team

Four Mitchell Kernels were named to the 11 AA All-State football team on Wednesday; DL Trevon Austell, LB/WR/KR Lukas Bennett, OL Camen Max and DB Jagger Tyler.

Senior DL Trevon Austell was Mitchell’s leading pass rusher this season with a team best 7.5 sacks, 14.5 tackles for loss and two forced fumbles as a defensive end. Austell was also second on the team with 47 tackles on the season and an ESD All-Conference Team member.

Lukas Bennett would prove to be a very versatile player for the Kernels as a senior, spending time at wide receiver, linebacker and kick returner. Defensively, Bennett had 32 tackles on the season with 3.5 sacks and a forced fumble. Bennett would lead Mitchell’s special teams averaging 30 yards per kickoff return, including a 92 yard return for a touchdown in the season finale at Brookings. He would also add 93 rushing yards on 19 carries and 10 receptions for 60 yards.

Camen Max was an anchor for the Mitchell offensive line all season long, leading a group that helped the Kernels rush for 1,285 yards and pass for 1,133 yards.

Senior DB Jagger Tyler led the Mitchell defense with 78 tackles on the season, 3.5 tackles for loss and two forced fumbles. Tyler also contributed on offense as he was second on the team with 315 rushing yards with a team high five rushing touchdowns. He also had 15 receptions for 183 yards and a touchdown while throwing for 105 yards. Tyler was also named ESD All-Conference.


Class 11AA – Offense
QB: Lincoln Kienholz, Pierre, sr.

TE-FB-HB: Jett Zabel, Pierre, jr.; Keegan DeYoung, Tea Area, jr. and Tyson Brandt, Brookings, jr.

RB: Chase Van Tol, Tea Area, sr.; Karson Carda, Aberdeen Central, sr.; and Juven Hudson, Watertown, jr.

WR: Jack Merkwan, Pierre, sr.; Tyler Sohler, Yankton, sr.; and Tyan Buus, Sturgis, jr.

OL: Matthew Coverdale, Pierre, jr.; Christian Busch, Pierre, sr.; Jacob Krenz, Aberdeen Central, sr.; Griffen Schnider, Tea Area, sr.; Chase Crocker, Watertown, sr.; and Camen Max, Mitchell, sr.

Class 11AA – Defense
DL: Jason Maciejczak, Pierre, sr.; Trevon Austell, Mitchell, sr.; Caleb Loehr, Brookings, sr.; and Reis Kirschenman, Tea Area, sr.

LB: Gavin Stotts, Pierre, sr.; Brady Hartwig, Spearfish, sr.; Reese Jacobs, Sturgis, sr.; and Jaxton Eck, Brookings, sr.;

DB: Jagger Tyler, Mitchell, sr.; Blake Thompson, Tea Area, sr.; Cody Oswald, Yankton, sr. and Jacob Meyer, Pierre, sr.

Rugby Ryken, Yankton, sr.; Cade Kaiser, Pierre, jr.; Owen Cass, Sturgis, sr.; and Elliot DeVries, Huron, sr.

Special Teams Players — Jayden Wiebe, Pierre, sr.; and Trevor Paulson, Yankton, sr.

Honorable Mention — Maddix Slykhuis and Jackson Smythe, Tea Area, sr.; Quinston Luellman-Clark, Huron, sr.; Gunner Rohloff, Sturgis, sr.; Brayden Delahoyde, Spearfish, jr.; Cole Artz and Brian Johnson, Aberdeen Central, srs.; and Lukas Bennett, Mitchell, sr.

All-American — Kienholz.