Tyler and Austell named ESD All-Conference

Mitchell Kernel seniors Jagger Tyler (DB) and Trevon Austell (DE) have been selected to the ESD All-Conference Team.

As a defensive back, Tyler led the Mitchell defense with 78 tackles on the season, 3.5 tackles for loss and two forced fumbles. Tyler also contributed on offense as he was second on the team with 315 rushing yards with a team high five rushing touchdowns. He also had 15 receptions for 183 yards and a touchdown while throwing for 105 yards.

Austell was Mitchell’s leading pass rusher this season leading the team with 7.5 sacks, 14.5 tackles for loss and two forced fumbles as a defensive end. Austell was also second on the team with 47 tackles on the season.


ESD AA Football All-Conference Team


Lincoln Kienholz, Senior, Pierre Quarterback

Karson Carda, Senior, Aberdeen Central Running Back

Jack Merkwan, Senior, Pierre Wide Receiver

Jett Zabel, Junior, Pierre Tight End

Juven Hudson, Junior, Watertown Running Back

Tyler Sohler, Senior, Yankton, Wide Receiver

Quinston Luellman Clark, Senior, Huron Running Back (At-Large)

Jacob Krenz, Senior, Aberdeen Central Offensive Line

Christian Busch, Senior, Pierre Offensive Line

Matthew Coverdale, Junior, Pierre Offensive Line

Chase Crocker, Senior, Watertown Offensive Line

Cayden Wavrunek, Junior, Yankton Offensive Line



Jaxton Eck, Senior, Brookings Linebacker

Gavin Stotts, Senior, Pierre Linebacker

Charlie Foote, Senior, Yankton Linebacker

Jagger Tyler, Senior, Mitchell Defensive Back

Jacob Mayer, Senior, Pierre Defensive Back

Cody Oswald, Senior ,Yankton Defensive Back

Mac Ryken, Senior, Yankton Defensive Back

Brian Johnson, Senior, Aberdeen Central Defensive Line

Caleb Loehr, Senior, Brookings Defensive Line

Trevon Austell, Senior, Mitchell Defensive Line

Jason Maciejczak, Senior, Pierre Defensive Line

Caysen Stohr, Senior, Yankton Defensive Line


Special Teams

Trevor Paulson, Senior, Yankton Kicker/Punter