Mitchell School Board president honored for service

Mitchell School District Board Member Deb Olson was honored by Associated School Boards of South Dakota with the Distinguished Service Award, which honors school board members for reaching milestone years in their service on their local school board.

The completion of the 2022-23 school year marked Olson’s 10th year serving on the Mitchell School District School Board.

Mitchell School Board president Deb Olson honored by ASBSD

“Deb’s years of service on their local school board is an exemplary display of dedication to the students, staff members and community,” ASBSD Executive Director Dr. Douglas R. Wermedal said.

“We’re pleased to have the chance to recognize Deb’s commitment to their school board work.”

ASBSD is a private, non-profit association representing more than 850 South Dakota school board members, the 148 school districts they govern and the students they serve. Our vision is leadership to achieve excellence for South Dakota public education through a mission of partnering, advocating and leading.