Mitchell’s Lizzie Tyler named All-ESD Volleyball

Mitchell Kernel Senior Lizzie Tyler has been selected to the 2022 ESD All-Conference Team for the second straight season.

The 2021 All-State selection led Mitchell in numerous offensive and defensive categories this season including kills (243), digs (384), and aces (33).

Tyler has committed to play collegiately at Dakota Wesleyan starting next Fall for a Tigers team that has made the NAIA National Volleyball Tournament for the second year in a row.

She ends her career with  840 kills, 1,492 digs, 952 assists and 218 aces. Last season, Tyler split the roles of being a key outside hitter for the Kernels and handling a large share of the setting duties as well.

All three classes of high school volleyball will meet in Sioux Falls this week for the State Tournament, which begins on Thursday at 11:30 am at the PREMIER Center with the championships on Saturday.


Eastern South Dakota Athletic Conference Volleyball All-Conference Team


Sydney Evans             Senior                                      Aberdeen Central

Grace Kuch                 Junior                                      Aberdeen Central

Mya Hejl                     Junior                                      Brandon Valley

Josey Wickersham    Senior                                      Brandon Valley

Gracie Adamson        Senior                                      Brookings

Morrisen Samuels     Senior                                      Harrisburg

Gabi Zachariasen       Freshman                               Harrisburg

Bryn Huber                 Senior                                     Huron

Lizzie Tyler             Senior                                  Mitchell

Lily Sanchez                Senior                                     Pierre T.F. Riggs

Ayvrie Kaiser              Senior                                     Pierre T. F Riggs

Kendall Paulson         Senior                                     Watertown


Honorable Mention

Kayleigh Hybertson   Senior                                     Harrisburg

Hamtyn Heinz            Junior                                    Huron

Brynn Gose                 Senior                                     Huron